Well, not literally. But the new Lendrum spins a heck of a lot better than the old Ashford, so we’re both spinning away at a surprising rate.

We took my old Ashford Traditional to the local spinning shop yesterday for more troubleshooting. They had a new Ashford there so we tried that wheel in my frame. It turns out that while the wheel itself was not balanced quite right because of how I glued the spokes, the frame has some other problem that causes the major wobble. It’s been cranky for a while, only spinning full revolutions when the stars were aligned quite right.

I have had it for about 10 years, paid a good price for it, and it has given me a lot of good spinning time. Here it is:

AshfordTraditional_2007Jan21

I have a spinning friend who might know someone who likes old, temperamental wheels, so I’m going to see if I can find it a good home with someone who knows what he or she is doing. If you are interested please leave a note including your email address in the comments and I’ll get back to you. It will come with a threading hook, 4 bobbins, and a kate.

And here is our new friend, the Lendrum folding wheel:

LendrumFolding_2007Jan21

I spun a bobbin of singles last night and my husband plied this morning. He’s spinning some orange pygora goat fiber as I type. There has been a decided lack of cursing in the house since we started working with this wheel! It has a very smooth motion and I am looking forward to spinning some very fine yarns with the fast flyer head. It makes a huge difference to not be fighting with equipment every step of the way.

In other news, I had run out of yarn for my Icarus Shawl and the shop where I bought it had no more in my colorway (!), but my wonderfully helpful husband phoned around to shops yesterday and found me some. This means I had plenty of time this week to finish a few projects:

Socks_2007Jan15_PeppermintPink

Pattern: own
Yarn: 1 skein Fearless Fibers 100% superwash merino in the Peppermint Pink colorway
Needles: size 1 double-points
I used reinforcement thread on the heels and toes

Bag_2006Dec20_GreenFeathers

Pattern: “Marabou Felted Purse” by Sweaterkits
Yarn: 3 skeins Merino/Alpaca Super Soft Yarn, 60% merino wool, 40% superfine alpaca
Needles: size 10 for body, size 9 for strap

This is much more froofy and fluffy than what I normally would carry but I like it a lot. I added a bit of elastic and the fancy button so the bag could be closed.

Scarf_2007Jan14_

Pattern: own (5 rows garter stitch, one row knit 1 yarn over 2)
Yarn: 1 skein Idena Mega, 100% nylon
Needles: size 9

This is an example of typical bus knitting, something mindless and easily interruptible to do on the bus.

I also finally finished the baby sweater I mentioned on January 2, but it’s blocking and not dry yet so I can’t show a photo.

I picked up more yarn for Icarus yesterday, so off I go to do the last 8 rows.

