I forgot how quickly hats work up. I cast this one on last night while we were watching a movie and thought I might finish it on the bus tomorrow or the next day. But hat #1 is already finished:

Hat_2007Jan28_RedSpiral_A4A

Pattern: own: k3 p3 rib on a multiple of 6 minus 1 stitch so the rib spirals
Yarn: 1 skein Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Bulky, 85% wool, 15% mohair
Needles: size 8
Size: 18″ = 4 years to small adult

Why so bright? The afghans for Afghans project is requesting 400 knitted or crocheted wool hats in primary yellow, blue, or red, and in bright green for the Afghan Mobile Mini Circus for Children. The hats are to be for children ages 4 through 18 and are due February 28. These are the colors requested by the MMCC, that’s why so bright. Yesterday I found 3 balls of yarn in the stash that meet these criteria and I will try to crank out 2 more before the deadline. Yeah, size 8 needles are kind of small for this yarn, but they specifically requested dense knits so the hats are extra warm.

Here is the baby sweater I finished knitting back on January 2. I then took a few weeks (not surprising; I’m a knitter, not a seamstress) to tuck in the ends and to buy buttons and sew them on. This is a gift for a friend who had a baby boy a few months ago. When I made my “fishing for information” phone call to her, she mentioned she prefers to dress her child in pastel blues. This yarn fit the bill and the few shots of darker blue and aqua kept it more interesting for me than a plain solid. She should get it Monday:

Sweater_2007Jan22_BlueRaglan_Trevor

Pattern: own, with the help of Sweater Wizard
Yarn: 2 1/4 skeins Filatura di Crosa Baby Zarina, 100% machine washable wool
Needles: size 5
Size: 1 year

I did not block the Icarus Shawl yet, so no photo today.

