Hat #2 is finished (and I swear it’s not the same hat as yesterday):

Hat_2007Jan29_RedSpiralWorsted_A4A

Pattern: own: k3 p3 rib on a multiple of 6 minus 1 stitch so the rib spirals
Yarn: 1 skein Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Superwash, 100% superwash wool
Needles: size 5
Size: 14″, about 4-8 years, but which equals less than preemie size according to standard patterns**

This design reminds me a bit of a circus tent, one with diagonal stripes on the sides and a pointy top, so I will make all 3 hats the same way. The bright yellow one is on the needles already but I doubt I’ll finish it tomorrow.

** Huh? Less than preemie size? What is it with hat patterns? The ladies in my group and I measured our heads tonight (so very wild and crazy…) and we ranged from 20″ to 23″ around. Everyone’s head could comfortably wear the hat I finished yesterday and it was 18″, which is supposed to fit kids from 6 to 18 months old. While with these hats I am not using a printed pattern, and I usually don’t with hats, I do depend upon published size standards to help me calculate the number of stitches to cast on. The first bunch of hats I ever made were ludicrously oversized for the recipients since I made them to fit the head measurement. This means they sat unsatisfyingly loosely on the head. The hat patterns I’ve found don’t seem to take into account the inherent stretchiness of a knitted fabric. You absolutely need a few inches less in circumference so a hat can hug the head. OK, rant over.

In spinning news, we received the carrying case for the Lendrum wheel today, meaning we could spin in Golden Gate Park if we wanted to. Naw, I’ve made the mistake of spinning in the wind before and the result is too much cursing for a public demonstration. I’d make passersby doubt how much fun spinning can be.

Also, the mother of the boy for whom I knitted the little blue sweater received it in the mail today and left me a message: the style and color fit the bill and he has a bit of time to grow into it. Whew!

