I present to you this week’s bus knitting, little pink booties. These are for my niece, who tends to kick off socks. I have made many pairs of these booties and parents have reported back to me that they stay on:

Booties_2007Feb28_Pinks_Lucy

Pattern: own, based on an old stay-on bootie pattern
Yarn: Fearless Fibers 100% superwash merino in the Peppermint Pink colorway
Needles: size 1 double-points

You can’t really tell in the photo, but at the tops of the booties the yarn pooled into a pink pool and a purple-and-white pool. And to please that finicky part of my nature that likes symmetry, it pooled on opposite sides of the booties almost perfectly, without my even trying for it. I like it when things just work out.

I abandoned old projects in favor of new ones this week. These pink booties and the start of socks for Mr. Mmmyarn both rode the bus with me. The red sweater did not make it to Stitches (“I think I’ll have a heart attack and die from not surprise”) and the striped baby sweater is no nearer to being ready to have a baby inside it. Next up, I think, is a felted bag made with Noro Kureyon, perfect for bus knitting. I saw lots of them at Stitches West and have a general shape with I-cord tie in my head.

