The Addi lace needles I ordered absolutely ages ago still have not arrived. Of course, I’m being completely unreasonable, since I just ordered them Sunday night and today’s only Saturday and they’re coming from a completely different coast. Still, the last postcard I sent overseas made it in 3 days, so why aren’t my needles here? Lily of the Valley is hanging out on the coffee table, waiting…

I really wanted my little reward in the mailbox, as it was a singularly frustrating work week. One of my co-workers is out on leave and another is on vacation, so only 4 of us are working in my department. Work days were rather frenzied the last few days and it’s going to be that way for part of the next week, too. I’m already pouting about going in Monday morning. Every night this week I stopped by the mailbox hoping my Addis would be in there (even Monday night, foolish me).

Why is it that waiting for something mail order seems like such a long wait? The postman did bring the little box with Stephanie Pearl-McPhee’s latest book (woohoo!) that I truly pre-ordered ages ago. That was a nice surprise yesterday. I have read half of it already.

The week wasn’t all bad. I did manage to ply the red singles last night, and also to finish my socks this week,  thanks to lots of waiting around outside work:

Socks_2007Apr3_Trekking100

Pattern: own
Yarn: Zitron Trekking XXL; 75% superwash wool, 25% nylon; color 100
Needles: size 2 dpn

I really, really like this colorway. Trekking’s color changes spur me on just as Regia’s stripes do; I keep going simply because I want to see what comes next. Ah, to be so easily amused.

Instead of working on my red cabled sweater while waiting for the Addis, I started another simple TV-watching project, a scarf made with every white and off-white I have in my scrap bin:

Scarf_2007Apr7_WhitesWIP

