I finished two scarves recently. The first one is a scrap yarn scarf, made with all my scraps of white and off-white yarn. I held the yarn double throughout with a strand of thin mercerized cotton I got from my great-grandmother’s stash.

Scarf_2007Apr16_WhiteScraps

Here’s a close-up so you can see the different yarns I used:

Scarf_2007Apr16_WhiteScrapsDetail

Pattern: own – cast on 270 stitches and work garter stitch lengthwise, changing yarns on each row and leaving tails long enough to make fringe
Yarn: many! mostly wool, cotton, and mohair, with small amounts of rayon, acrylic, nylon, etc.
Needles: size 8 Addi Turbo circular
Size: 5.5″ wide x 74″ long without the fringe

This is the second scrap yarn scarf I have made. I had no idea I had so many whites and off-whites. Last year I made one in blue and had to get extra scrap blues from friends and my husband. Several of the yarns I used this time were not scraps, but balls of whites I bought last year in an attempt to knit a garter for my wedding. I figured the few yards I used here wouldn’t deplete the skeins too much to be used elsewhere. The scraps from the yarn I ended up using for my wedding shawl and garter are in this scarf, too.

Which brings me to why I really liked making this scarf: I got to revisit the joys of past projects. And some frustrations, too, but with simple garter stitch I got to forget the frustrations. So with each row, I got to remember a past hat, or a baby sweater or blanket, or the fishtrap aran sweater I made for myself. Some of these things I made years ago and just having the yarn in my hands again made those projects seem much more recent. The thin mercerized cotton I carried along on each row was yarn that was in my great-grandmother’s stash when she died and that my grandmother decided to give to me.

Last week’s bus knitting was another drop-stitch scarf:

Scarf_2007Apr15_WhiteWBlackEros

Pattern: own; 5 rows garter stitch followed by 1 row of k1, yo2
Yarn: Plymouth Yarn Eros, 100% nylon
Needles: size 9
Size: 3″ wide x 60″ long without the fringe

