Yesterday was World Wide Knit in Public Day. No, I am not making this up to have blogfodder. San Francisco knitters were quite underrepresented in Union Square:

KIPDay_2007Jun9_UnionSquare

That’s Lauren (purse), me (sock), Susan (baby blanket for the local general hospital), Catherine (sock), and Connie (sweater) (ladies, I hope I spelled all your names right). There are 7 yarn shops in town so there must be more S.F. knitters or those shops would all go under. But it was fun, and I got to meet some new knitters. The weather was oddly warm: note that we are not wearing coats even though it’s June. I’d wager knitters who saw it was 70-ish, sunny, and not windy that morning decided to go hiking instead.

The toe-up sock went to KIP day in a new format. I unravelled its little toe-up self on Friday, having given up on doing something new. I decided to live dangerously (= possibly run out of yarn) and work it top-down instead. The yarn is thicker, which means I’m using fewer stitches, which means I’m already halfway down the foot of sock #1 after just a little knitting time. Woohoo! 

