I found another bunch of acrylic in my older (5+ years) stash and made a second cage cozy. I wanted something simple for the bus but not plain garter stitch again, so I log-cabined (is that even a word?) this one:

CageCozy_2007Jun12_BlueMulti

Pattern: own
Yarn: Patons Look at Me! Baby Sport;60% acrylic, 40% nylon; color 6367 (blue) and 6378 (multi)
Needles: size 4
Finished size: 21.5″ x 19.5″

It’s my first foray into the log cabin way of constructing somthing and it was great fun. There was more blue than multi so I initially started making two segments blue and one segment multi. Mr. Mmmyarn observed my progress and suggested I switch to alternating the two. Following his suggestion, I unravled what I had done and started over, and got something that’s not Courthouse Steps but still interesting. The blanket has nice, square edges; the skewing in the photo was caused by my standing at a weird angle, trying to snap the photo before the wind blew the blanket off the roof.

This one, together with the one I made in March, will most likely go to an animal shelter in New Orleans since our local one doesn’t want them and I know folks in N.O. were looking for some cozies a few months ago. I’ll have to look through the stash again, but I think that’s it for the acrylics for cage cozies. I have a little left over of the blue and multi and might make a hat with those bits.

