At long last, the striped scarf is done:

Scarf_2007Jun26_MaroonOatmealStripe

Pattern: own
Yarn: Patons Rustic Wool, 100% wool; 2 1/2 skeins maroon (color 1014) & 1 2/3 skeins oatmeal (color 1009)
Needles: size 7
Size: 9″ x 67″

The “Rustic” in the yarn’s name must refer to the many guard hairs I had to pick out of it while working. This was a pretty scratchy yarn until I removed those hairs.

This is a double-thick scarf. I worked it in the round with a phoney seam on either side so it folds nicely and sewed the ends together to close it. The stripes are a simple numerical progression. I started with 6 rows of maroon and reduced down to 1 then increased back up to 6. With the oatmeal it was 4 rows down to 1 and back. I had cold ears last night while finishing this thing so I experimented with ways of wearing it. The length allows me to stuff one end up inside it and wear that end as a hat, and I still have enough to wear the rest as a proper scarf… but this does look pretty goofy! It will well serve someone who lives in a cold, blustery climate.

