For the first time, I attempted to spin fatter yarn on purpose. Up until now, I have been working on getting my spinning finer and more even. Usually I go for about a fingering weight yarn, but I wanted the colors in this one to streak a bit more rather than blend completely so I worked on making the singles fatter. This was nearly instant gratification; it’s amazing how much faster it is to spin up yarn at 8 wpi than, say, 15. Here is the result:

Spinning_2007Jul15_RoseQuartzB4

Spinning_2007Jul15_RoseQuartz

Spinning_2007Jul15_RoseQuartzDetail

Fiber: 100% merino wool
Colorway: Rose Quartz
Supplier: Carolina Homespun
Quantity: 8 ounces
Finished yarn: 2-ply; one skein of 117 yards and one of 128 yards; 8 wpi = bulky

This week’s bus knitting is a small purse to be felted. I do not know whether this design is going to work after felting because that colorful strand is going to poke out of the felt (it’s a cotton and nylon blend), and I won’t know until I get to a good washing machine, but here’s what I have so far:

Bag_2007Jul19_PurpleFelted_WIP

