Remember those two round shapes I showed off at the end of my last post? They turned into a small bag.

Here is one side:

Bag_2007Aug9_PiAreRound1

And the other side:

Bag_2007Aug9_PiAreRound2

Pattern: own
Yarn: 1 skein Noro Kureyon, 100% wool, color 180; about 1/4 skein Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Worsted, 85% wool, 15% mohair, color M-08
Needles: size 7
Size: medallions are 9″ across, bag is 11″ across with the brown border/strap

*With gratitude to Elizabeth Zimmermann for using this phrase on page 109 of “Knitting Around.”  

That little bit in EZ’s book always gets me to giggle. She mentions an old Pogo joke (aside: Pogo, it turns out, is an old comic strip (Wikipedia is a wonderful thing)). Howland’s talking about the math formula for a circle, pi = r squared, and his friend Churchy corrects him with “Pie are round, cornbread are square.” Hihihi. The math geek in me appreciates any geometry-related joke.  

My pi here is definitely round. Coincidentally, each medallion measures 9″, the right size for a pie. Anyway, I cast on each medallion from either end of a single ball of Kureyon and worked each round and round, pi-fashion, until I ran out of yarn. [See “Knitter’s Almanac” if you need an explanation of pi for knitting.] Then I invisibly cast on for the strap and worked back and forth in stockinette, eating up one medallion stitch every row, until I decided it was time to stop and form the handle. There are no seams anywhere, just the one graft where the handle ends met up. It’s a little puckery but it will definitely hit a washing machine someday so it can shrink down and based on past experience with Lamb’s Pride I believe it will flatten out. I’m not so sure I like the full-circle at the top as it seems to want to gap unattractively. While it’s blocking I might fold the tops over each other, then add a button and buttonhole. But all that stuff has to wait until it’s been felted and I see how it comes together. I have a picture in my head of a future design similar to this, except I’ll make the body of the bag the shape of a wedge of watermelon rather than a full circle.

I wish I had a washing machine so I could felt it now.

In my last post I mentioned knitted Princess Leia buns; this week I learned someone out there has crocheted a Darth Vader helmet. Now that’s a resourceful use of beer cans!

