Last week’s bus knitting, another spiral hat:

Hat_2007Aug15_BlueGraySpiral

Pattern: own (K3P3 rib, multiple of 6 minus 1 so it spirals on its own)
Yarn: Cascade 220, 100% wool; 1/5 skein color 9452, heathered blue; 1/5 skein color 8011, heathered gray
Needles: size 6
Size: Child

I mentioned to Mr. MmmYarn that I didn’t really like these colors for a hat (since I make a lot of stuff to give away or sell it doesn’t usually matter whether I like something as long as I like knitting it); I liked the bright teal and yellow one from a few weeks ago better. He laughed, and pointed out that I carry this every day:

IMG_0526

Ahem. Enough said. The hat actually matches it quite well…

This week’s bus knitting is a Koigu scarf in a simple stitch pattern:

Scarf_2007Aug15_KoiguWIP

Yesterday I worked on calculating the weirdness at the end of the Lily of the Valley Shawl and actually finished knitting the last 2 inches of it, then grafted and saw the rows didn’t line up. I undid the graft, flipped the ends around, and re-grafted. Humph. Threw it on the table in frustration. I’ll give it another go today, and if I’m successful I’ll block it. Since it’s warm out (wow, the blocking gods must be happy today) I might even get it to dry before the sun goes down so I can get a picture.

And so my audience of about 2 readers doesn’t die of boredom with all the spiral hats, I leave you with a picture of an art car Mr. MmmYarn and I saw yesterday at the farmer’s market. I like the flowers on top. This photo was taken with a phone camera with the car in the shade and sun streaming toward us so it looks a bit like a watercolor, but it’s just a trick of the light:

2007Aug18_ArtCar

