On Wednesday night the stash revealed some remaining variegated pink-based wool I’ve had for a while. I had this idea that I wanted to try a small sweater with neck and armhole steeks as practice for the sweaters/cardigans I want to make for myself. Since I wasn’t sure I had enough to make a small sweater, I decided on a vest. Here it is with the uncut v-neck and armhole steeks I put in:

Vest_2007Aug25_Pink_b4SteekCutting

What better place to cut steeks than in the Arboretum in Golden Gate Park? Warm day, nice breeze, happy kids running after cavorting squirrels. Much less nerve-wracking than brandishing the scissors at home. Here is the vest again, post-cutting:

Vest_2007Aug25_Pink_SteeksCut

I threw caution to the winds and neither sewed nor crocheted along the edges before cutting. The wool is blue-faced Leicester and seems fuzzy enough to hold up on its own. Finishing the neck and armhole edges will come later, probably not for several weeks as Mr. MmmYarn and I are going on vacation for 2 1/2 weeks and today and tomorrow I’ll be busy with details, packing, and, most importantly, deciding on vacation knitting.

Right now I plan to bring two skeins of sock yarn for socks for me plus some scrap sock yarn for baby booties as my airplane knitting. I had to go buy little bamboo needles for that; while I know for sure I can take metal needles on flights leaving the U.S., I couldn’t get British Airways to definitively say I could take them on the flight coming home. We’ll also be travelling by train and by ship; for those, I have some dark teal Artfibers Tsuki and the sharp Addi Turbo lace needles to make the Myrtle Leaf Shawl from Victorian Lace Today. Although perhaps I’d rather take the Zephyr for the Peacock Feathers Shawl… Decisions, decisions. The really important stuff is taken care of: we both know exactly where our passports are.

There was a bit of bus knitting this week:

Scarf_2007Aug22_Koigu

Pattern: own; k1, *yo k2tog* on every row
Yarn: Koigu KPPPM, 100% merino wool, color P13794
Needles: size 6
Finished size: 4″ x 62″

I am supposed to finish plying August’s fiber bundle today or tomorrow, but with all the travel stuff on my mind I don’t think I’ll get to it. Lily of the Valley will also need to wait.

