My work holds an annual staff arts & crafts sale and ours is coming up the second week of November. This means I have the urge to quickly make a few more small items. This sale funds most of my fun at Stitches West in February so I have incentive to knit small items in a variety of colors.

This is the first of 5 hats I made in the last 10 days or so:

Hat_2007Oct18_PinkVari

Pattern: own (3×3 rib that shifts 1 stitch each round)
Yarn: 1 skein Silver Creek Yarns Space Dyed Blue Face Leicester, 100% wool, color: Elliot
Needles: size 3
Size: child’s large

This hat finishes off the last of my 6 skeins of Silver Creek Yarns pink yarn. I made a Baby Surprise Sweater, a vest for a toddler, this hat, and possibly something else with the yarn and have enough left over for a tiny hat or mittens. Not bad for $26.

Spinning progress has been slow the month of October. I am working on a worsted weight 4-ply. This necessitates thin spinning, so all I have to show for hours of effort is one bobbin of one ply of singles.

Spinning_4ply_singles

Yes, I wrote the drive ratios directly on the head. It makes more sense to me than trying to remember what’s what.

