The colors in this scarf made me crave hot chocolate the entire time I worked on it. The brown is just the right color for a really dark chocolate-y concoction and the tan reminded me of that light foam you get on top of a good mug of cocoa.

It was very hard to photograph. The brown and tan blends in with natural backgrounds so well that I took half a dozen photos and finally had to settle on this:

Scarf_2007Nov10_BrownDiagonals1

This second photo doesn’t show the scarf to its best advantage, but its shadow shows off the rows of diagonal holes nicely:

Scarf_2007Nov10_BrownDiagonals2

Pattern: own – garter stitch with yo, k2 tog that shifts one stitch to the left every other row
Yarn: Rowan Kidsilk Spray, 70% super kid mohair, 30% silk, color: 571
Needles: size 5
Size: 5.5″ x 62″

I broke down and put myself on the waiting list for Ravelry today. I must be crazy: I feel like I don’t have enough time to knit and spin what I have now; I hardly need a reason to crave more.  But it just looks like so much fun!

It will take a while: there are 10,884 people ahead of me. That means there is time for hot chocolate. Mmm… hot chocolate.

