I am on a little EZ kick over here and decided to make a February Baby Sweater right after the Baby Surprise Jacket. It went just as quickly with even less need to look at the pattern. You will notice the colors are the same as the BSJ’s. Sorry about that. I realize this may bore my minuscule audience but I am eager to finish up with this yarn already. When I bought it I had no idea I would be able to make 3 sweaters and a few hats with only 4 skeins.

Here’s the finished sweater. I like how the two front panels serendipitously ended up nearly matching in the pooling and that the sleeves look almost deliberately striped:

Sweater_2008Feb26_FebruaryBabySweater_RainbowPastels

Yarn: nearly a full skein (about 10 yards left) Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sport, 100% superwash wool, color 62 (Childsplay [sic])
Pattern: Baby Sweater on Two Needles (February) by Elizabeth Zimmermann, in Knitter’s Almanac
Needles: size 4
Size: tiny! Probably newborn to 3 months only

Aren’t the buttons great? You will need to click the photo to get a bigger version of it and see the buttons properly. I like the little colorful dots in the pink that work well with the yellow sewing thread I used.

I made a couple of modifications to the design. The lace pattern simply did not show up in this busy, busy yarn so I went with straight stockinette. I also cast on 6 extra stitches (8%) under the arms when I separated the sleeves onto waste yarn and knitted the body first. Then I picked up the set-aside sleeve stitches plus the 6 extra stitches, working them in the round rather than back and forth and reducing 2 stitches every other round twice to give me a total of 30 sleeve stitches instead of the 28 the pattern calls for. They still seem really narrow when compared to the Baby Surprise Jacket but I am sure they will fit. This is, after all, for a tiny person.

Next time I will work the yoke increases on the wrong side rather than the right side. Those little bloops of color bother me just a little and I noticed the increases are invisible on the inside of the yoke.

And what’s riding the bus with me as of Tuesday morning? Another Baby Surprise, this one in a double strand of Tofutsies sock yarn.

Sweater_2008Feb28_BabySurpriseWIP

