The Baby Surprise I started last week went for a walk in the park today:

Sweater_2008Feb8_BabySurpriseTofutsies

Pattern: Baby Surprise Jacket by Elizabeth Zimmermann, in Knitting Workshop
Yarn: about 1.25 skeins (I have 75g left of 200g, weighed by my not-so-accurate scale) South West Trading Company Tofutsies; 50% superwash wool, 25% Soysilk fibers, 22.5% cotton, 2.5% chitin
Needles: size 5
Size: newborn

I couldn’t get 6 matching buttons so made do with 3 of each color. I held two skeins of Tofutsies together throughout, both to help avoid pooling and to make the yarn thick enough to work with this pattern. When I first touched this yarn in the skein I thought it was a little rough and I hesitated to use this for a baby sweater, but it turns out it’s skeined very tightly. Once I had worked two or three rows the skein loosened and felt soft. The sweater feels great, too. I hope the coloring meets my stepsister-in-law’s criteria of soft greens and tans for her baby boy due later this year.

This brings me down to only 43.157 miles of yarn in my stash. 🙂

Now I have to go come up with a project that meets jury duty criteria for tomorrow: small, mindless yet interesting enough for me, and on wood or plastic short needles so security doesn’t take away my knitting. I will bring a book, too, just in case.

