With the big spinning project done, I can get on with some smaller ones. I have a kind of grab bag of 1 ounce each of various wools and picked out English Wensleydale Longwool top the other night.

The fiber looked like this:

Spinning_2008May11_EnglishWensleydaleLongwoolTopB4

I spun it up into a pretty fine singles. This wool has a long staple length (I had to put my hands really far apart to split the bundle into two sections) and was easy to spin finely once my hands figured out the staple length. It felt course; I wouldn’t recommend it for next-to-the-skin wear. The wool is prettily shiny, though, and reminds me of mohair only it’s less, well, hairy.

Spinning_2008May11_EnglishWensleydaleLongwool

Fiber: English Wensleydale Longwool
Color: natural/undyed
Supplier: friend of a friend
Quantity: 1 ounce
Finished yarn: 1 skein, 2-ply, 89.8 yards, 18-19 wpi (= fingering)
Spun and plied at 15:1

I spun 3/4 of the fiber in one evening and the rest plus plying the next evening. What a welcome break after the 8 ounces of 4-ply! It went so fast. However, I wasn’t so even with this stuff as I have a lot of singles left on one bobbin. Or perhaps I was even, but the bundle of top wasn’t evenly distributed when I split it using my highly scientific method of finding the middle of a bunch of roving and pulling it into two pieces at that point. We bought a small kitchen scale over the weekend so I will weigh the next fiber I split.

I picked up the green fuzzy sweater again, the one I started months ago. The sleeves are great, the waist shaping is in the right place, and the armholes are… too low. Since I picked a top-down construction, this means I need to unravel my sleeves and the body back to past where I began the armholes and calculate again. You see where this is going, don’t you? This sweater will end up abandoned like the others that only need a bit of work, in favor of some tempting alpaca that wants to be a scarf or more colorful sock yarn. Sigh.

