While paging through A Treasury of Knitting Patterns by Barbara Walker, this rib stitch caught my eye as a good possibility for a scarf. I found some green alpaca yarn in the stash and swatched until I got a width I liked. I added a one-stitch selvedge in garter stitch to frame the pattern. This is a shade of green I can’t wear but like to look at, making the knitting go quickly.

The pattern for this scarf is available as a free PDF file in the sidebar under the Free Pattern header.

Scarf_2008May18_Little_Shell_Rib

Pattern: own – available on the Free Patterns page (see link in sidebar)
Yarn: 3 skeins Misti Alpaca Worsted, 100% baby alpaca, color 7238
Needles: size 7
Size: 5″ x 55″
Started 5/9/2008 and finished 5/18/2008

Scarf_2008May18_Little_Shell_Rib_detail 

Mr. MmmYarn filmed me making the P1 K1 P1 into the same stitch since I could not find an existing one online. This is my very first YouTube upload. Bloglines readers, there is a video embedded here (you need to click on the post’s title to view this post outside Bloglines and see the video).

