I found green Fixation, another yarn that’s recommended for chemo caps, in the stash and made an interior-of-an-avocado-colored Swirl Cap:

Hat_2008Jun8_SwirlCap_greenFixation

Pattern: Swirl Cap by Norah Gaughan, published in Vogue Knitting on the Go: Caps & Hats
Yarn: Cascade Yarns Fixation, 98.3% cotton, 1.7% elastic, color 5606
Needles: size 5
Size: small
Started June 5 and finished June 8, 2008

Pattern modifications: I left off the i-cord top, simply drawing the tail through the remaining 10 stitches at the end of the knit 2 together round. Also, there is one typo in the pattern: at the end of the “Rnd 43” instructions, it should be “rnds 44-55,” not “rnds 44-50.”  

The Fixation causes the length to draw in considerably, so this hat is only about 6″ tall, much shorter than I usually make them. The circumference is very flexible and can stretch and narrow to any adult size. My idea is to send a box of 3 or 4 hats in various sizes to the recipient so she can pick what works for her. Her head is smaller than mine, and without hair, she may need a hat this small. Or perhaps she prefers not to cover her ears and this will fit the bill.

I don’t know whether hat #1 fits because I was given the wrong address and the package came back. I have the right address now but I’m going to hold this package another week to give myself time to make two more hats before I send it on its way again.

I also did a little something else today:

Shawl_2008Jun8_LilyOfTheValley_Blocking

“Hey, remember me?”

