As I mentioned in previous posts, I was recently on a mission to make some green hats for a family member who requested a hat. She asked for just the one, but I wanted to be sure she had variety so I made four. I finished the last two this week.

First, the special one she had requested, just like the one I made with a red base for our niece earlier this year. This was a style I swore I’d not make again, simply because carrying along the non-stretchy Squiggle is so hard on my hands. But I can’t deny a family member’s special request, so here is the normal hat side:

Hat_2008Jun19_GreenSquiggle_Inside

And the squiggly side:

Hat_2008Jun19_GreenSquiggle_Outside

It doesn’t look too bad on my head although I feel watch caps don’t flatter me:

Hat_2008Jun19_GreenSquiggle_OutsideOnHead

Pattern: own
Yarn: 1 skein Wolle Roedel Universal Superwash, 100% merino wool, color 849 + 1 skein Crystal Palace Yarns Squiggle, 50% nylon, 50% polyester, color 9291
Needles: size 5
Size: Adult
Started 6/9 and finished 6/19/2008

Since I figured this might be itchy regardless of which side is on the inside, I made an olive green chemo cap out of Berroco Chinchilla, a yarn that’s highly recommended for this type of project. This week I made a second one, slightly smaller and in light sage green:

Hat_2008Jun20_ChemoCap_LtSage

Pattern: Knit Chemo Cap and Scarf by Berroco, Inc.
Yarn: nearly 1 skein Berroco Chinchilla, 100% rayon, color 5571 (Note: the pattern states 2 skeins, but you need only 1 for the hat. The other skein is for the scarf in the pattern.)
Needles: size 9
Size: about 18″ around and 7.5″ tall
Started 6/18 and finished 6/20/2008

I sent the package off to the recipient on Saturday. Here is a group shot of what she got:

HatGroup_2008June20

Since my post about the Swirl Cap, my smaller-headed co-worker (uh, a smaller head than mine, I mean) tried it on and it actually stays on her head and fits like a skullcap. On my head it pops right back off again.  I hope the recipient has a smaller head than mine.

I must have been in a bit of a hat groove because I picked up some leftover sock yarn and made a baby hat in what to me looks like camouflage, really “rebel baby” colors.

Hat_2008Jun21_BabyCamo

Pattern: own
Yarn: Regia Stretch Color; 70% wool, 23% nylon, 7% polyester; color 88 (this was leftovers, so probably about half a skein total)
Needles: size 3, working with two strands held together
Size: infant
Started 6/20 and finished 6/21/2008

Why rebel baby? Someone I know gave me that phrase. One time I made some black-based booties and my mom said I was nuts, that no one would want colors like that for a baby, but I had a taker nearly immediately. She had bought a black onesie and wanted booties to go with it for a friend whose baby had a rebel baby wardrobe, no pastels to be seen.

And now? Now I have nothing to knit for tomorrow, so off I go on a stash dive. Wish me luck.

