Wow. I do try to post more frequently but every once in a while life gets in the way. I’m glad I ran out and snapped photos yesterday evening just before sunset because today the thick fog and heavy wind would have prevented good picture taking.

Last week’s bus booties are finally done. The nearby cafe has those silver tables you frequently see my knitting posed on, but the fellow there had just packed those up so I made do with an obliging mailbox. I won’t tell you how often the wind skittered those little booties right off the curved edge of the mailbox. Mmm… bright booties in jelly-candy colors:

Booties_2008Jul14_Trekking158

Pattern: own
Yarn: Zitron Trekking XXL, 75% superwash wool, 25% nylon, color 158
Needles: size 2
Size: newborn – 6 months
Started 7/3 and finished 7/14/2008

This Trekking XXL seems slightly thinner than other Trekking XXL I have used. I usually use size 2 needles, and did for these booties, but for the Jaywalkers I made a few months ago I ended up going down to size 1s. These booties will hit the washer and the dryer tomorrow so they can tighten up a little.

We visted Mr. MmmYarn’s parents over the weekend. They live just outside the same town I lived in until I moved here 6 years ago. That town used to have a yarn shop but that one closed in 1999. By coincidence, I ran into the former shop’s owner at the local farmers’* market on Saturday morning, and as she also ran the knitting group I used to attend and knows how gung-ho I am about knitting in public and with others, she told me about knitting and beer that afternoon in the garden behind a new shop that opened in past year or so. Well, now, I couldn’t pass that up, could I? I couldn’t have any of the wonderful-looking home-brewed beer (driving, you know) on that warm afternoon but did find a consolation prize (Click for big, as usual. This skein is quite pretty):

Noro_Kureyon_Sock_colorS102

Plus I got to catch up with 2 people from the old gang. Very nice indeed.

Lest you think I’ve been a lazy knitter, making only a pair of booties since my last post, I did knit an entire scarf out of some of my handspun but it’s too short so I need to frog and re-think the thing, plus I started the Apres Surf Hoodie:

Pullover_2008Jul15_ApresSurfHoodieWIP

The yarn is Baruffa Aerobic and it’s a very brilliant spearmint green; the dull color here was caused by the sun dipping down below the tops of the buildings a minute too early. That big line on the right sleeve is where I blocked my sleeve/swatch, which turned out to be exactly the gauge I needed so I put it back on the needles and forged ahead.

In family news, the little baby surprise jacket I made of Tofutsies back in March and the matching booties I made in April have a wearer to go with them as of very early Tuesday morning. 🙂

* I see this written as “farmers,” “farmer’s,” and “farmers’,” and I never know which one’s right. They all could be, I suppose, depending upon your interpretation of the phrase.

