I spent a good chunk of time Thursday evening and yesterday setting in the sleeves and sewing the seams of the Apres Surf Hoodie. This is what I had yesterday afternoon:

Pullover_2008Aug31_ApresSurfHoodieWIP

It’s a little tight on the arms and a little baggy on the chest. And a little longer than I’d like, too. After I sewed the shoulder seams, I tried it on and found the front and back to hang halfway down my thighs. Whoa, that wasn’t right! But The Kneedler was right that sewing the seams takes up some length and now it’s only an inch or two longer than I’d like. I will either fold under the stockinette part and make a hem or shorten it. I haven’t decided. In the meantime, I’m knitting away on the hood.

That sad little pile of unraveled chocolate pink cherry yarn you saw 10 days ago is now a complete hat:

Hat_2008Aug31_ChocolatePinkCherry

Pattern: own
Yarn: Fearless Fibers (on Etsy) 100% superwash merino wool, Chocolate Pink Cherry, held doubled throughout
Needles: size 3
Size: child
Started 8/26 and finished 8/31/2008

Mr. MmmYarn and I are going on vacation in less than 2 weeks and I still need some sort of flat purse that’s easy to stuff in a suitcase. I found a pattern in my pattern binder that I think will work and some possibly suitable yarn in the stash but I’ll have to hustle to get it done in time. Plus I have to think about travel knitting. A knitter’s work is never done.

