It has been warm here this week. Even bordering on hot for this time of year with temperatures going up into the high 60s, such a relief after weeks of shivering in our apartment. This means I have great light for photographing finished knits. Mr. MmmYarn and I went for a short walk in the park yesterday and this was my view:

Socks_2009_01_12_Rockstar2

These socks are bright and crazy, just like I like them:

Socks_2009_01_12_Rockstar1

Pattern: own
Yarn: nearly 1 full skein Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks That Rock lightweight, 100% superwash merino wool, colorway: Rockstar
Needles: size 1
Size: women’s size 9.5
Started 9/12/2008, unraveled and re-started several times so real start date for this version of the pair is 12/22/2008, and finished 1/12/2009

This is my first and only skein of Socks That Rock and the yarn does rock: it’s soft and comfortable, easy to work with and feels sturdy even though there’s no nylon content. I hope they wear well. Do these look like the feet of a Rockstar to you?

Socks_2009_01_12_Rockstar3

I tried a brimmed 3×3 spiral rib hat and I like how the folded-up brim slants in the opposite direction of the body of the hat:

Hat_2009_01_16_SpiralRib_Quatro_PinkGreen

Pattern: own
Yarn: about 4/5 a skein of Cascade 220 Quatro, 100% Peruvian highland wool, color 9440
Needles: size 5
Size: adult small
Started 1/14 and finished 1/16/2009

The Quatro yarn is interesting: each of the four plies is a different color. To my eye it reads as a dark pink/purple overall when I look at it from far away, but the plies are fuchsia, salmon, lime green, and dark purple.

Spinning is coming along slowly, as usual. I have one more singles of purple to finish before plying:
Spinning_2009_01_03_PurpleOrangeWIP

And I unraveled the yoke of my Icelandic pullover this morning, hoping to focus on fixing that this weekend, because I know it will get cold again.

