Whew, the orange and yellow baby sweater is finally done and since I mailed it Saturday, the recipient should have it already.

Cardigan_2009_03_02_OrangeYellow_Olivia

Pattern: own, percentages based on Elizabeth Zimmermann’s February Baby Sweater
Yarn: Wolle Rödel Baby-Merino, 100% superwash merino wool, 3 skeins color 13075 (orange), 1 skein color 13065 (yellow)
Needles: size 2 for body, size 1 for buttonband
Size: 6 months
Started 1/2 and finished 3/2/2009

I made the little flecks at the bottom reverse direction at the center back by making little fleur-de-lis-looking things:

Cardigan_2009_03_02_OrangeYellow_Olivia_BackDetail

I like how the sleeves belled out a little at the cuffs and the swoop leading up to the button at the bottom of the front. The buttonband is an attached i-cord. The photo doesn’t do this sweater justice as it got a little wonky in blocking, making it look like the sleeves didn’t line up quite right. They are a bit tight at the armhole, I think, but without a little person here I’m not sure. Next time I might make underarm gussets so they lie a little more naturally.

