When a bird is molting, its feathers can look ruffled and scruffy until the new, smooth ones come in. So, here I give you a molting Peacock Feathers shawl:

Shawl_2009_10_09_Peacock_Feathers_WIP1

I don’t know what else to call feathers that have gone this far off course so quickly. You’ll notice the shawl is off the needles. Sigh. A few nights ago I noticed a mistake about 11 rows back on one half. I say “about 11 rows” because I’m still not sure where I went wrong but could see exactly where I went right. After nearly an hour of tinking in an attempt to locate precisely where things went awry, I gave up and frogged. I am tonight just past where I was several days ago.

The feathers that aren’t wonky are looking pretty nice:

Shawl_2009_10_09_Peacock_Feathers_WIP2

It has again been more than a week since I posted, and so I have a few more finished projects to share. At long last, the golden October scarf:

0_02_3x3_Goldener_Oktober_3

Pattern: own (3×3 slanting rib)
Yarn: Tausendschön Handgefärbte Sockenwolle, 75% superwash wool, 25% nylon, color: Goldener Oktober
Needles: size 3
Size: 4.5″ x 59″
Started 8/27 and finished 10/2/2009

And, of course, another hat. Because it wouldn’t be a work week without a hat:

HatAdult_2009_10_10_SteinbachActiv_Blue

Pattern: own
Yarn: Steinbach Wolle Aktiv Effect, color 63984, held together with KnitPicks Essential, color 23696 (Ash), both 75% superwash wool, 25% nylon
Needles: size 4
Size: adult large
Started 10/2 and finished 10/10/2009

I forgot to share one more thing from when my houseguest was here. Fabulous housekeeper that I am, I pretty much piled everything that was lying around the living room in the bedroom, intending to not show off the bedroom. However, during the 3-minute tour of the apartment, she did peek in and saw, amongst papers to file and the Goodwill pile, the tub of scrap yarns I didn’t shove back under the bed (you know, out of sight, out of mind, and I’m trying to remember to use some of it every week). Her comment: “that’s a big stash of yarn.” Her exact word was “Vorrat,” which means stockpile or hoard. My reply: “that’s not even my stash, those are just the scraps.” Ahem. Perhaps I should have kept my big mouth shut.

Excuse me while I go play in what non-knitting guests refer to as an impressive stockpile. Until I post again, see if you can come up with a badass name for knitting needles. I refer you to one of my favorite Savage Chickens comics.

