Sunday warmed up a lot after I posted the blocking photos and the shawl dried very quickly so I took it for a walk in the park in the afternoon. The weather obliged by being almost perfectly still most of the time and the clocks hadn’t changed yet, making for some great light.

We took a short walk around the area in front of the Academy of Sciences:

Shawl_2009_10_25_PeacockFeathers_01

And continued on the walkway around the Music Concourse:

Shawl_2009_10_25_PeacockFeathers_04

Shawl_2009_10_25_PeacockFeathers_05

And stopped at a park bench on the way home so you could get another good look at the crocheted bind-off edging:

Shawl_2009_10_25_PeacockFeathers_08

Pattern: Peacock Feathers Shawl by Dorothy Siemens, available from Fiddlesticks Knitting
Yarn: 2/3 skein JaggerSpun Zephyr Wool-Silk 2/18 lace weight (2/3 of 150g ball, 1665 yards), 50% merino wool, 50% tussah silk, color: Peacock (what else?)
Needles: size 4 Addi Turbo lace needles and size E crochet hook for border
Finished size: 78″ across top, 41″ straight up the middle, 56″ each side
Started 10/2 and finished 10/25/2009

For the sake of accuracy here, I looked up the Cervantes statue that’s in Golden Gate Park, the one I use for hat photos sometimes. I always call it the Cervantes statue even though I know only the disembodied head at the top of the sculpture is the man himself. I wanted to know who it was kneeling at his feet. I give you Don Quixote with his buddy Sancho Panza. Don is the one cross-dressed for a night out:

Shawl_2009_10_25_PeacockFeathers_06

I got some amused looks from passersby when they saw me staging that one. The wind had picked up and I took about 45 shots trying to get one that didn’t have the shawl flapping in the breeze so I was there a while.

The pink blob grows, slowly, slowly, on the bus. I had to wad it up to make it an unrecognizable blob for its photo shoot (recipient views my Flickr feed):

IMG_3623

I don’t know if I have enough yarn to finish this. Pout. Which means I’m working on it more slowly, as though I don’t want to find out for sure that I don’t have enough yarn. I frequently find myself doing this when it looks like I’m fighting a losing knitting battle. I know working more slowly makes the yarn last longer, calendar-wise, but doesn’t make it go any further in a project. It’s my irrational knitting thing and the reason there are 5 sweaters in progress for me in the apartment on which I have not made any progress in months or even years.

Yardage surety is a great thing: the last (or perhaps I should say latest, in case she decides she wants more) of a series of hiking socks for my mom is also underway:

Socks_2009_11_01_Sam_WIP

