Last week, before I went to Stitches West (more on that in a later post), I sent a small cardboard box off to our 3-year-old niece. I initially was going to send only the sweater but decided to put Gwendolyn in there as well. Remember Gwendolyn?

Here she is, waving good-bye:

2010_02_25_Package_for_Lucy

She apparently transformed during her travels and is now Mr. Hippopotamus Guy. I heard from our niece’s mother Tuesday who said our niece loved the hippo but did immediately take off the tutu and say it’s a boy. Darn, and I thought I had that one right. How embarrassing, both for me and for the now male hippo. The sofa is lonely without its purple adornment (s/he has been watching TV with me for months).

Same niece also finally got her sweater. This should have been her birthday sweater, and I was right on track with getting it done by the end of October… or maybe a week later. Then I watched as I came close to running out of yarn. True to form, I slowed down; my brain always thinks knitting more slowly will make the problem not happen. What happens is it’s a problem less quickly. How that’s supposed to be better, I don’t know. There really is nothing like delaying the inevitable, right? In December, I admitted defeat. Here’s what I had right before frogging:

PulloverChild_2009_12_06_FuchsiaRaglanWIP

So I went yarn shopping: found lots of not-quite-right colors and one fantastic Baby Ull match that was about half the thickness I needed. I left the sleeves as they were, unraveled the body back down to the hem, changed my body pattern to plain stockinette, and knitted 4 rounds with the Tess’ yarn and 1 round with the Baby Ull held doubled for the body and the yoke. It blended well.

PulloverChild_2010_FuchsiaRaglan_Lucy_

Pattern: own
Yarn: Tess’ Designer Yarns Superwash Merino, 100% superwash wool; Dale of Norway Baby Ull, 100% superwash wool, color 4536 (fuchsia), held doubled
Needles: US size 3 and 4
Size: made for a 4-year-old; currently fits a 3-year-old
Started 10/12/2009 and finished 2/20/2010

Her mom posted modeled photos to Flickr on Thursday and I’m so happy to say the sweater fits her. In my opinion, the neckline is a little too high in the photos so next time I’ll make it lower. No need to give a kid what’s practically a stand-up Victorian collar. However, she looks good in it with the placket buttons opened.

