I nearly always have multiple projects on the needles, some easy and some requiring more thought. Things don’t get much simpler than a garter stitch scarf:

Scarf_2010_04_04_Horizon_Neapolitan

Pattern: what pattern? it’s all garter stitch
Yarn: 2.5 skeins Trendsetter Yarns Horizon, 70% cotton, 30% nylon, color 8
Needles: US size 10.5
Size: 5.5″ wide x 78″ long
Started 3/25 and finished 4/4/2010

Garter stitch is perfect for knitting on the bus. The coloring reminds me of Neapolitan ice cream, except a little pale for that. The yarn is old, not in Ravelry or Yarndex. I’d guess at least 12 years old: it’s leftovers from an old friend, sent to me in February via a mutual friend at Stitches West. Horizon is an interesting frayed-looking woven ribbon:

Yarn_Trendsetter_Yarns_Horizon

My complicated project was a pair of lace socks for me. With all the ripping and re-knitting, these took nearly two months to complete. Fortunately, so much repetition meant I memorized the stitch pattern very quickly so these were good bus knitting whenever I was on a roll on a particular section. They blocked quite nicely:

Socks_2010_04_09_LittleArrowheadLace_blue_3

Pattern: own
Stitch Pattern: Little Arrowhead Lace (from Barbara Walker’s first Treasury, page 193, except I added a second purl stitch between motifs
Yarn: 2.25 ounces (skein is 4 ounces) Fearless Fibers sock yarn, 100% superwash merino wool, rainbow-dyed colorway Robin’s Egg; white reinforcement thread at heels and toes
Needles: US size 1
Started 2/11 and finished 4/9/2010

Fearless Fibers is a dyer I found on Etsy; in fact, my first Etsy purchase. She has terrific customer service. I don’t know what her sock yarn base is. It’s quite a bit thinner than what I’m used to working with. Her skeins are 550 yards to 112g (4oz) and most commercial yarns I’ve used are around 425 yards to 100g. This meant I had to work with size 1s instead of size 2s, not a big deal.

Mmm… pretty blue close-up:

Socks_2010_04_09_LittleArrowheadLace_blue_4

In cooking news, I used the bread machine to make whole wheat pizza dough a few weeks ago. Brilliant! I don’t know why I never thought of it before. Since I was at it, I made enough for two pizzas. Here’s the result, pizza #1 on the left, hot from the oven, and #2 waiting to go in.

2010_03_20_Pizzas

Yes, I cannot make a perfect circle unless it’s a shawl or hat crown.

