Summer weather finally arrived last week and was here part of this week, too. It’s gone today. But all the bright light indoors made my African violet bloom like crazy and the blooms remind me of the latest socks to come off the needles, both of which are a little floral.

First up, socks for me made with yarn I bought at a store that went out of business in August 1999, which means it’s been in the stash long enough to be at least starting junior high this week, were it a person. Hm.

Socks_2010_06_24_GoldenDahlia

Pattern: Golden Dahlia by Kirsten Kapur, as published in The Joy of Sox
Yarn: Brown Sheep Wildfoote, 75% superwash wool, 25% nylon, color SY-13 Sienna Red
Needles: US size 1
Started 6/29 and finished 7/24/2010

I go to the dahlia garden frequently and have to say I have not seen a dahlia shaped like this there. The stitch pattern on the fronts and backs reminds me more of butterflies. Here is the sock twisted around so you can see the pattern better:

Socks_2010_06_24_GoldenDahlia_detail

The dahlias in the garden have lots of shapes. This is the best photo of mine I can find and of course it has a big piece of knitting in the way but you can see a few of the flowers’ shapes.

Hat_2004Sep_BlueOrangeBumpy

I have been working with those 3 skeins of sock yarn I picked up from my mom in early July. When she visited me in early August, I had her try on the mostly-completed single socks for 2 pairs so I could adjust the length. Pairs 1 and 2 are complete but only pair 1 has been out for its photo shoot. Here you go:

Socks_2010_08_14_WavingLace

Pattern: leg of the sock is Waving Lace Socks by Evelyn A. Clark, as published in Interweave Knits, Spring 2004, the rest is my own
Yarn: Regia Cotton Flowers Color, 41% superwash wool, 34% cotton, 25% nylon, color 04928
Needles: US size 2 for edging and first 1.5 pattern repeats, US size 1 for the rest
Started 7/31 and finished 8/14/2010

I made the Waving Lace pattern zig-zag in opposite directions on the two legs just for fun. The feet are stockinette because these are for hiking. Now I have to hustle on the remaining pair so I finish it by the end of this month (not that socks take so long, more that they are solely my commute project and therefore take more days than an at-home project).

