I have never seen “A Streetcar Named Desire” but I’ve seen the yelling scene parodied enough that as I was knitting this scarf with yarn named Stella, every time I picked it up I heard “Stella!” yelled in a comical manner. Not that I have voices in my head or anything like that. 🙂

It can be worn wrapped around the neck:

Scarf_2010_11_29_Stella_2x2_1

It can be worn in a hacking knot:

Scarf_2010_11_29_Stella_2x2_2

And it can be worn as “a sexy top,” ha!, which those of you who have a copy of Vogue Knitting’s Holiday 2010 issue can see modeled properly on page 84. Modesty prevents me from going whole hog on this one (plus the sparkly bits would probably be itchy on my softer bits), but you get the idea:

Scarf_2010_11_29_Stella_2x2_thejokeshot

Pattern: 2×2 rib, which looked way more interesting in this bouclé yarn than garter stitch looked
Yarn: 4 skeins Trendsetter Yarns Stella, 58% kid mohair, 25% viscose, 12% nylon, 5% wool; color 455
Needles: US size 10.5
Size: 8″ x 80″

Here’s a close-up where you can see the subtle sparkles in Stella:

Scarf_2010_11_29_Stella_2x2_detail

In other knitting news, I knitted this wimple 5 inches longer than the pattern dictates and my neck is still bare when I pull the top up over my head. The photo in “Lace Style” must be styled with pins and clips or the model has a really stubby neck and head. Plus I resemble Prymaat Conehead when I wear it as a wimple, which several in my Monday night knitting group agreed was an accurate statement. This yarn obviously wants to be a cowl. Here it is before ripping back:

2010_12_11_WimpleWIP

I sold 16 items at the craft fair this year, with two orders for January. Hooray, I earned enough that I get to go to Stitches West!

