Ravelry has a Flash Your Stash 2011 thread going on. I’ve never photographed my entire stash… until today. I realize “small,” “medium,” and “large” stash sizes are all relative: mine is both huge and tiny when I compare it to other Ravelers’ stashes. Personally, I call this one large. And perhaps even frightening.

This took me a couple of hours because I also reorganized how everything is stored and got rid of all opaque bags. I culled several skeins to give away to my Monday night knitting group and lots more partial skeins went into the sack of yarn I’m collecting for my co-worker’s daughter’s school’s weaving program. I photographed what was left.

Kicking things off with sock yarn (I opened the little zipper pouch I keep sock yarn in, then gathered together all the random skeins that are not intended for socks from other bags of yarn, then realized I have lots more than I thought I did and had to up it to the next size zipper pouch):

2011_01_16_Stash_a_Sock_Yarn

If you want to read the notes on a photo, click it so you go to it on Flickr.

All the laceweight together:

2011_01_16_Stash_b_Lace_weight

All the Brooks Farm and Artfibers yarns. The rubber band on the black Kyoto had broken down, forcing me to throw away several outer layers of the yarn. I removed all rubber bands when I put everything away again:

2011_01_16_Stash_c_BrooksFarm_and_Artfibers

Apparently I live in great fear that the Brown Sheep Yarn Company is going to disappear off the face of the earth without warning:

2011_01_16_Stash_d_BrownSheep

Fuzzy, fuzzy mohair:

2011_01_16_Stash_e_Mohair

Kid item yarns (mostly Dale of Norway Baby Ull and Wolle Rödel superwash merino) and some sport weight:

2011_01_16_Stash_f_Kid_and_Sport

The novelty skeins (I can finally say “not so many”):

2011_01_16_Stash_g_Novelty

All the worsted weight that was not already in a category above:

2011_01_16_Stash_h_Worsted

This is the yarn I received from my great grandmother’s stash after she died. The cream-colored rectangle is a cotton sweater she was working on. The light blue and dark brown are wool with old labels (“made in Western Germany”). The thin little mercerized cotton in center front is a representative sample of the about 100 skeins of it I got from her.

2011_01_16_Stash_i_from_Oma

All in all about 50 miles of yarn according to my Excel spreadsheet, not counting the mercerized cotton or the many remnants in the under-the-bed bin. It will last me about 9 years provided I buy nothing else. Sheesh.

I then arranged all my handspun, and as I sit here I realize I did not include the skeins on the left side of my desk that are awaiting photo processing and blogging before I add them to the stash. So there’s more than this but you get the idea:

2011_01_16_Stash_j_Handspun

And lastly… I need not worry about running out of spinning fiber. I mean, seriously? I had no idea it was this much. It is now stored all together in one place so I can see it, and again with nothing in an opaque bag.

2011_01_16_Stash_k_Fiber

So. There I have it. I am also happy to say I now have photographic evidence for State Farm that I do indeed have this much yarn on the premises, should I ever have need to put in a claim against my renters’ insurance. Even better news: I found no wool-eating critters in any of it. Whew!

