In January I hunted for a Noro-like long-repeat yarn that contained no wool or mohair because I wanted to make an entrelac scarf for a friend and accommodate her fiber preferences. After a lot of research I finally came up with Kudo but the color I wanted was backordered more than 2 weeks. Then when I got the yarn it smelled so strongly of fabric softener that it had to sit in solitary confinement in a bag with some crumpled-up newspaper for two days before I could stand to be near it (have since then purchased one more skein of Kudo and it smells the same so it must come from the factory that way). This meant I had extreme deadline knitting and had to get this done fast. I succeeded.

2011_01_30_Kudo_entrelac_scarf1

Pattern: entrelac made with 8-stitch rectangles
Yarn: 2 skeins Plymouth Yarn Kudo, 55% cotton, 40% rayon, 5% silk, color 42
Needles: US size 6
Finished size: 7″ x 60″
Started 1/26 and finished 1/30/2011

Kudo is like Noro yarns, where there are random knots and always some color I don’t like; I don’t particularly like that brown-ish/khaki-ish color. Kudo is machine washable, fiber content-wise, but is fragile so must be hand washed. Or I guess a gentle cycle might do but my Laundromat doesn’t offer that option. It’s a singles and I had to repeatedly twist it back together while weaving in the ends.

2011_01_30_Kudo_entrelac_scarf4

Next up is a project with a high emotional investment. I made these socks for Mr. MmmYarn and grafted the toes a few days before he died. He was so tired those days that I didn’t ask him to try them on so he never wore them. They have rested at the bottom of my knitting bag all this time until I was finally able to pick them up in February and shorten them to fit me. Here they are:

2011_02_17_HarryPotter_socks1

Pattern: own
Yarn: Opal Harry Potter und der Halb-Blut Prinz, 75% superwash wool, 25% nylon, color Harry (19835)
Needles: US size 1
Started 4/5/2009 and finished 2/17/2011

While waiting for one of his appointments in April 2009 an elderly Japanese woman lit up when she saw me knitting, approached me, and pointed and mimed knitting motions. I handed the sock in progress to her and she looked at the needles and yarn, then carefully knitted a couple of stitches before handing it back to me, beaming all the more. No one could translate but I interpreted it all as meaning she used to knit, no longer did, and was thrilled to confirm she still remembered how. Hand memory over mind memory, you know.

Taking pictures of my own feet required some gymnastics on the park bench:

2011_02_17_HarryPotter_socks3

Last up is a pair of beaded wrist cuffs. I made mine and a close friend so admired them that I started a pair for her immediately. Hers are grafted together better because I had had some practice by then.

2011_03_03_beaded_wristlets

Yes, that is the Hex Coat I’m wearing in the picture. That’s going to be a separate post. Also, the sundial is a great place to put my little tripod.

Pattern: Beaded Pulse Warmers by Véronik Avery, as published in “Knitting Classic Style”
Yarn: JaggerSpun Zephyr Wool-Silk 2/18, held doubled throughout
Needles: US size 0
Started 2/20 and finished 3/3/2011

I had to knit 11 repeats to make them fit (did not bother measuring gauge). They are grafted together at the seam and therefore have a half-stitch jog. There’s also a noticeable gap between the start and end. I thought of this while I was straightening up the graft on the 4th cuff and it’s because that grafted row would have had beads had it been knitted. When planning a graft in garter stitch on a beaded item, make the graft on the last beaded row (this means you have to push the beads into place as you graft which means you have to unthread and thread your sewing needle for each beaded stitch) or on the reverse side between beaded rows. Either way, you’ll still have the half-stitch jog but at least no gap. Something for me to keep in mind for next time I make something like this.

I decided today to start unraveling the Sweater Girl Pullover that needs to be resized. I spent 3.75 hours on it today and unraveled only one sleeve. So this is going to take a while. Stupid mohair content.

Unraveling

