My parents were in town last weekend and we kept so busy that I was unable to write a Sunday post. There’s not too much to see this time around because I’m mostly working on bigger stuff.

First up, a baby hat:

2011_03_04_Pilot_Cap_front

Pattern: Heartbreakingly Cute Pilot Cap by Cristina Bernardi Shiffman, as published in “Mason-Dixon Knitting: Outside the Lines”
Yarn: Koigu KPPPM, 100% wool, color P108
Needles: US size 3
Size: infant
Started and finished 3/4/2011

I imagine it will look far cuter on a non-green head. I ran a small swatch of KPPPM through the washer and dryer and it came out the same as it went in. Woohoo! I always thought this stuff wasn’t washable.

2011_03_04_Pilot_Cap_side

Look at me from the side, do I look bigger to you?

I made another hat and booties.

2011_03_15_Hat_and_Booties_lime_and_white

Pattern: own
Yarn: DROPS Fabel Superwash, 75% superwash wool, 25% nylon, in color 100 (white) and color 151 (lime green faux isle), nearly 1 skein each
Needles: US size 2 for booties, US size 4 for hat (held 1 strand of each color together)
Size: booties are the usual infant size, hat is for an older child
Started 2/8 and finished 3/15/2011

The stripes forming on the hat kept me extremely engaged, even more so than they did when I made the booties. Oddly, I have about 1/5 of the white skein left and only a couple of yards of the lime green faux isle. No idea what happened there. I find it interesting how the colors in the hat are so subdued with the addition of white.

And some more booties, and this colorway still doesn’t remind me of Harry Potter.

2011_03_25_Booties_Harry_Potter_6

Yarn: Opal Harry Potter und der Halb-Blut Prinz, 75% superwash wool, 25% nylon, color Harry (19835)
Needles: US size 2
Started 3/16 and finished 3/25/2011

I also finished a scarf for my grandmother but haven’t photographed it yet. As I said above, mostly bigger things are in progress. I restarted the Sweater Girl Pullover and haven’t gotten too far yet because it’s all been bus knitting:

2011_04_09_WIP_SweaterGirlPullover

Darn flash; it’s really not electric blue. The reason it’s only been on the bus is my evenings are taken up by a new shawl, “Twilight” in Wagtail Yarns 2-ply mohair which is indeed electric blue, brighter than in this photo:

2011_04_09_WIP_Twilight

My poor little cardigan cozy has been languishing with only the cuffs to finish, some sort of border to create, and ends to weave in:

2011_04_09_WIP_CardiganCozy

And I have no household music because the power supply on my little server burned out and I need to wait for an RMA replacement. Pout.

2011_04_02_power_supply

This, of course, means I can watch (well, listen to) a lot of “The Simpsons” and “Monty Python’s Flying Circus” and “Doctor Who” and “BtVS” while I knit in the evenings. No pouting there.

