The past few weeks have been rough on me. It’s just past the second anniversary of Mr. MmmYarn’s death and my focus hasn’t been all too great so I try to reserve my best concentration for work and don’t worry about it too much at home. However, I did finish a few things that didn’t require too much thinking and made slight progress on some other WIPs that have been lying around for a long time.

First up, a scarf for my grandmother. I was told it had to be not all wool but some wool for warmth, machine-washable and -dryable, and had to be a neutral that matched the color scheme of some clothing in a photo my mom sent me. The only neutral in the photo was brown. Well. That narrowed it down so much that all I found was a skein of TOFUtsies after a couple weeks’ searching. I’m not 100% happy with the scarf to be honest but haven’t been able to find any other yarn that fit the bill so this is it. Here’s what it looked like after it went through the washer and dryer and I steamed it a bit with the iron, apparently badly at the widened points:

2011_03_10_Nanas_scarf_2

Pattern: Amazing Twining Lace by Susan Oldham, as published in “Shawls + Scarves: the Best of Knitter’s Magazine”
Yarn: 1 skein South West Trading Company TOFUtsies, 50% superwash wool, 25% soysilk, 22.5% cotton, 2.5% chitin; color 943
Needles: US size 6
Size: 7″ x 65″
Started 2/26 and finished 3/10/2011

More baby booties. With three babies I know of expected in the next few months, I want to build up my stock.

2011_05_20_booties_KPPPM

I really like their soles:

2011_05_20_booties_KPPPM_soles

Pattern: own
Yarn: Koigu KPPPM, 100% merino wool, color P108
Needles: US size 2
Size: newborn

I tried a wimple. I adjusted the stitch count for my gauge and knitted a couple of inches longer than the pattern dictated. When I pulled it up on my head, a few inches of the back of my neck were sticking out. So I unraveled the border and knitted three more inches. Neck still bare. Unraveled, knitted some more. Knitted until I was sick of it and I was sure I ran into the knitting black hole, where you knit and knit and nothing gets longer. Still leaves my neck bare. So I present to you a cowl:

2011_05_23_Wimple_brown_blue_2

I don’t think I have a long neck, so maybe my apparently huge skull is the problem. We measured heads at knitting group and mine was only second-largest; however, this pattern seems to think my head is freakishly large. In the photo in the book, it looks like it fits the model perfectly. Her head must be the size of a grapefruit. Either that or they’re cleverly pinning the wimple in place for the photo shoot.

2011_05_23_Wimple_brown_blue_1

Pattern: more or less the Never Wimpy Wimple by Priscilla Gibson-Roberts, as published in “Lace Style” (note: the lace pattern published doesn’t turn into anything so made cat’s paws, which is what the photo looked like it was going for)
Yarn: 1 skein Malabrigo Lace, 100% baby merino wool, color Charrua 259
Needles: US size 2
Size: adult

Other stuff I’m working on includes ballerina legwarmers (this is just me playing with different stripes),

Swatch

the Finn-ish Socks,

Sock

a striped children’s pullover,

2011_05_29_Pullover_green_yellow_WIP

and orange-oatmeal-currant cookies, which I have to say went faster than all this other stuff.

2011_05_22_OrangeOatmealCurrant_cookies

