The zigzags and triangles on the Denmark Cap got me to thinking about argyle but I didn’t want to do colorwork. Instead, I used Excel to draw an argyle diamond pattern that I used with self-striping Kudo. The question is: does he wear it better?

Hat_2011_07_06_KudoDiamondPattern_d

Or do I?

Hat_2011_07_06_KudoDiamondPattern_b

No egg-shaped head this time! Must be the fancy colors distracting from that.

Pattern: own
Yarn: about .6 skein Plymouth Yarn Kudo, 55% cotton, 40% rayon, 5% silk
Needles: US size 4 for the ribbing, size 5 for the rest of the hat
Size: adult
Started 6/20 and finished 7/6/2011

The diamond pattern shows nicely despite the busy yarn:

Hat_2011_07_06_KudoDiamondPattern_a

I had to knit very tightly to make the top look neat.

Hat_2011_07_06_KudoDiamondPattern_c

The entrelac scarf I made in January was Kudo, too, so I knew what to expect in the finishing. It’s a relatively loose singles and I had to repeatedly twist the yarn tighter while weaving in its couple of tails because it wanted to fall apart. Even though this is mostly cotton and rayon and the simple act of knitting gives the yarn strength, I recommend hand washing. I don’t think it will survive a round in a washing machine.

