Today was warm and sunny. Winter was here a few weeks ago but has since left again. The park smelled very earthy today; I’d say the weather has the soil and plants confused. Or perhaps grateful. Today, too, the idea of writing up summer projects finally sounds appealing. Mild depression is a weird thing: cycles of troubled sleep, too much eating, not enough eating, apathy toward everything including knitting, curious non-apathy toward one specific thing (e.g., baking and cooking, if I’m in an eating cycle), etc. It comes and goes in waves that sometimes let me surf and other times beat me to the sand. Figuratively, of course. I can’t imagine what severe depression does to a person. Despite all this I do knit rather a lot, just get lazy about the write-up. Plus I work in computer hardware/software help desk and thus usually don’t want to go anywhere near my computer when I get home from work.

I have lots of photos of finished objects that I sorted through and labeled today and plan to spread out over several posts that I will write relatively soon, I hope.

First up, a 4×2 ribbed hat that I started with a 6×2 rib to counteract curling and knitted long enough so it could have a fold-up brim. It looks really goofy lying flat on a big Chilean rhubarb leaf:

2011_07_17_a_4x2_Bartlettyarns_Hat_flat

Pattern: own (2×6 rib at brim changing to 4×2 rib for body)
Yarn: .65 skeins (137 yards) Bartlettyarns Fisherman 2-ply, 100% wool, color Midnight Blue, lot 280
Needles: US size 8
Size: adult
Started 7/16 and finished  7/17/2011

On the head it looks fine:

2011_07_17_b_4x2_Bartlettyarns_Hat

The yarn felt very rough in my hands when I was knitting with it; I actually developed a small callus on my index finger. The hat softened a little in washing but not much. Neither bad nor good, just the way it is.

2011’s one and only weaving project was a scarf:

2011_07_26_Pink_plain_weave_scarf

Pattern: plain weave
Warp yarn: 1 skein Dream in Color Classy, 100% merino wool, color Ruby River, lot VM260
Weft yarn: 2 skeins Debbie Bliss Rialto Aran, 100% merino wool, color 21224, lot 114
Loom: Schacht Flip, 10-dent reed
Size: 7.25″ wide, 65″ long without fringe and 76″ long with fringe
Started 6/26 and finished 7/26/2011

This yarn is from Mr. MmmYarn’s stash, one of the color combinations he picked out. My edges are relatively good:

2011_07_26_Pink_plain_weave_scarf_detail

I did a quick tally of 2011 projects. I completed 41 items:

  • 12 hats (mix of adult and children’s sizes)
  • 11 pairs of booties
  • 6 cardigans (3 baby, 1 toddler, 1 Barbie, 1 for me)
  • 3 shawls
  • 2 cowls
  • 3 scarves (2 knitted, 1 woven (and no wonder my finished object bin is so empty; I haven’t been keeping up with scarf demand))
  • 1 pair of legwarmers
  • 2 pairs of beaded wristlets
  • 1 pair of socks

All told, 127 ounces (7.9 pounds) and 10,745 yards (6.1 miles) of yarn used up. Thank heaven most of it was not for me. Spinning round-up will be in probably the next post.

