Nice, clear title there. This is indeed the great spinning write-up for 2011. I had planned to write these up as I made them along with notes on how the fiber felt working with it. Obviously, I dropped the ball (ha! ball-sports reference on Super Bowl Sunday) on that one.

I spun up a luxurious silk and merino fiber from A Verb For Keeping Warm:

2011_01_03_AVFKW_TenPercentChanceOfRain

Fiber: A Verb For Keeping Warm 50% silk, 50% merino
Colorway: 10% Chance of Rain
Quantity: 4 ounces
Finished yarn: 1 skein of 3-ply, 235 yards, 13 wpi and 1 skein of 2-ply, 27 yards, 17 wpi
Spun at 12:1 and plied at 7:1 on a Lendrum wheel
Started 9/19/2010 (you last saw it on the Spin in Public Day post I did back then) and finished 1/3/2011

This is dyed with indigo. My fingers stained blue while working with this but washed clean with just a normal washing, no super-scrubbing needed. I want to make the Selbu Modern hat with this and some dark gray merino/silk I have yet to spin, with the dark gray as the base and this blue as the pattern.

This is a fiber I called presumed Jacob. It didn’t come with a label but felt like Jacob.

2011_01_12_Spinning_presumedJacob

Fiber: unknown, presumed Jacob
Colorway: natural
Quantity: 8 ounces
Finished Yarn: 1 skein of 3-ply, 357 yards, 6.75 ounces and 1 skein of 2-ply 124 yards, 1.25 ounces
Spun at 17:1 and plied at 7:1 on a Lendrum wheel
Started 4/26/2009 and finished 1/12/2011

This was rough and lumpy in my hands and I felt like I was fighting with the fiber to get it to spin. This has to do with the fiber’s preparation, I know, but I don’t know exactly what the deal was. It also felt like it had quite a bit of lanolin still in it. I stopped fighting much and let the lumps go in where they pleased. It turned into a nicely balanced yarn in the end.

Some Laundromat spinning on my drop spindle was a blue wool. This turned out nice and thin and surprisingly even given my skill level. I was also surprised at turning out 342 yards of 2-ply, which means I spun up 684 yards of singles to create this.

2011_04_16_Spinning_blue-wool-2-ply

Fiber: wool (unlabeled so don’t know exactly what)
Quantity: 3 ounces
Finished yarn: 1 skein of 2-ply, 342 yards
Started February-ish 2011 and finished 4/16/2011

In one day I spun 2 ounces of this cashmere and silk blend, then let it sit around nearly 2 months before I plied it:

2011_05_22_Spinning_AVFKWFinishingTouch_TransnationalFury

Fiber: A Verb For Keeping Warm “Finishing Touch,” 50% cashmere, 50% silk
Colorway: Transnational Fury (how could I not buy a color with that name!)
Source: A Verb For Keeping Warm
Quantity: 2 ounces
Finished yarn: 1 skein of 2-ply, 114 yards
Spun 3/12/2011 and plied 5/22/2011, both at 15:1 on a Lendrum wheel

Cashmere is a short-staple fiber. This was slippery and short bits flew around like mad while I was working with it. I had huge fuzzballs of orange cashmere stuck to my clothes.

Part II to follow.

