Tuckernuck, Tuckernuck, Tuckernuck. It’s just fun to say. Our younger niece turned three in the fall (how and when did she get so big?) and I made her a Tuckernuck Cardigan. This is the pattern I found in September when I used Ravelry to search patterns I owned and discovered, to my surprise, that I have over 4000 patterns immediately available to me in my very house. This design was published as a one-color garment; however, when you haven’t enough of one color to make a complete sweater you improvise:

2011_10_10_a_LillisCardigan_front

Pattern: Tuckernuck Cardigan by Elinor Brown, published in Interweave Knits, Winter 2010
Yarn: Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece, 80% cotton, 20% merino wool, in colors CW-320 Roasted Coffee and CW-810 Cherry Moon. Didn’t track quantities.
Needles: US size 8 for the body and 6 for the ribbing
Size: 3T
Started 9/10 and finished 10/10/2011

This was going to be a solid brown sweater. I knitted the sleeves first (as gauge swatch) in brown, then worked the body all the way up until the last 4 inches or so of the front, when I noticed I had about 8 inches of brown yarn left. So I unraveled the sleeves and used that brown to finish the body, then made pink sleeves and bands. I worked the pattern pretty much as published. Minor changes: colors (obviously), made it about 1.5 inches longer than indicated, and mitered the front corners where the buttonband met the neckband so it would lie flat.

2011_10_10_b_LillisCardigan_back

This is my first time working a braided cable. I found its construction logical and did not need to refer to the pattern anymore after one repeat. No cable needle needed because it’s a 4-stitch cable at each twist (I usually only need one for 8-stitch or more cables).

2011_10_10_c_LillisCardigan_detail

Rather than give a toy for her birthday I gave an item for a toy. I used the size schematic in Nicky Epstein’s “Barbie and Me” to make a matching sweater for Barbie, because little niece received several Barbie dolls from others and dressing like your doll at that age is fun:

2011_10_10_d_LillisBarbieCardigan_front

Pattern: own, using braided cable from Tuckernuck Cardigan, using a size schematic from “Barbie and Me” by Nicky Epstein
Yarn: Knit Picks Stroll, 75% wool and 25% nylon, color 23697 (brown) and Dale of Norway Baby Ull, 100% superwash wool, color 4516 (pink)
Needles: US size 2
Size: Barbie!
Started 10/2 and finished 10/10/2011

I modeled it on the Tuckernuck and even managed to work the braided cable on the sleeve. It is wee:

2011_10_10_f_LillisBarbieCardigan_verysmall

However, while 3T sweater fits the niece great, Barbie cannot wear her sweater because the fingers on her hands are fashionably splayed so they can’t make it all the way into the sleeves. Harumph. I offered to fix that the next time we see each other. Niece and I, not Barbie. Because I made the sleeves in the round there’s no seam to undo so I’ll have to trim the ends off and add a garter stitch flared cuff or remove and re-make them entirely.

Compare the sizes:

2011_10_10_g_LillisCardigan_comparison

With both of these I’d say she’s properly Tuckernucked.

