The last finished item shown here was named Tuckernuck (as in Massachusetts); this one is Brattleboro (Vermont). I guess I have an East Coast thing going on. The Brattleboro Hat is stylish and quick to knit. Behold the style:

2011_10_24_a_Brattleboro_Hat

he knows he looks good

Pattern: Brattleboro Hat by Melissa LaBarre, as published in Interweave Knits, Fall 2010
Yarn: 0.6 skeins Malabrigo Merino Worsted, 100% wool, color 186 Buscando Azul
Needles: US size 8
Buttons: vacation souvenir from France 14 years ago (they have been in the stash long enough!)
Finished size: adult
Started 10/16 and finished 10/24/2011

I can see why Malabrigo is so popular. It’s soft and pretty although I found it a little splitty. I suspect it may pill early because it’s so soft and also a singles. This hat is no longer with me so I’ll never find out. I like the color variations, that it’s not a straight solid blue, and really was amused by the color name: “looking for blue.” I’d say blue has been found! Hat construction starts with the ribbed band, then you pick up stitches and work upwards to the top. Speaking of the top…

2011_10_24_b_Brattleboro_Hat_top

I made a few changes to the pattern. I did not make buttonholes. Instead, I unraveled the cast off edge, knitted the tab including its shaping, and sewed the buttons through both layers. I definitely knitted the crown taller, I think by a little more than an inch, before I started the decreases because of other Ravelers’ comments that it was a little shallow.

