A stranded cardigan doesn’t go quite as quickly as a basic garter stitch one for me, especially when worked back and forth and not in the round. The time I invested was well worth it. I adore this little sweater and I hear its owner is wearing it frequently this winter (because we still have winter here some days).

2011_12_18_BabyFairIsle_b_front

Pattern: Baby Fair Isle by Jean Guirguis, as published in Vogue Knitting on the Go: Baby Knits
Yarn: Dale of Norway Baby Ull, 100% superwash wool, color 83 (charcoal gray), 8523 (green), and a very small amount of color 2908 (orange)
Needles: US size 3
Size: 6 months
Started 10/28 and finished 12/18/2011

I took this next picture before I sewed on the buttons (indeed, before I decided to sew on 4 buttons instead of 2) because I wanted to catch the light of the setting sun. The real color is closer to this than what’s in the previous photo.

2011_12_18_BabyFairIsle_a_front

This design’s original colors are black with white and pink for the trim. I like charcoal gray better than black and I know the parent likes green and orange. I had lots of green in the Baby Ull pile so I went with that as the main contrasting color. The little bit of orange on the edge really adds a lot to the look:

2011_12_18_BabyFairIsle_e_detail

Changes:
(1) I added a purl row at the top of each sleeve and the body before binding off so that I got a purl ridge when I sewed them together. This complements the sleeve and lower body bands.
(2) Instead of a 1-button closure I made it 2-button and put button loops on both sides. There’s a bit of overlap on the fronts so I figured parent can button it the other way if there’s a lunch incident that affects the front.
(3) The couple of rows of garter stitch on all edges are not enough to prevent curling. I added a facing along the button bands and neck so they would lie flat and would have added it on the bottom and cuffs if I hadn’t run out of steam. When I was knitting the last row of the facing to its first row to close it I left small gaps where the buttons go so it’s possible to sew the buttons back on if they should come loose without having to undo the bands.

2011_12_18_BabyFairIsle_f_lining

Apparently I’m the first person on Ravelry to have made this one. Mine is the only entry.

2011_12_18_BabyFairIsle_c_back

