Back in August I bought a lovely Bluefaced Leicester sock yarn from Girl on the Rocks at the trunk show at Urban Fauna Studio. Long before then I had a rough plan that I wanted to make a hat with a Golden Gate Bridge design on it “someday.” This particular yarn caught my eye because it was a great shade of orange.

2011_12_03_GGBridgeHat_1

Oddly bright light here.

I petted the yarn and checked the label: the color name was “International Orange.” Obviously destined for this project.

2011_12_03_GGBridgeHat_3

Rather dull light here.

Two days later I cast on with the yarn held double and quickly made a k2p2 brim and a little bit of a stockinette body. Then it languished a few weeks until I went to the library to get the bridge book, then that languished again until I finally printed out graph paper and sharpened my pencil.

Hat design in the Laundromat

One washer and dryer cycle in October later (yes, after all that languishing, the graphing went quickly), I had a workable and to scale graph that I then knitted into the body of the hat.

2011_12_03_GGBridgeHat_6

The setting sun apparently captures its color correctly.

Pattern: own
Yarn: Girl on the Rocks Superwash BFL Sock, 80% superwash Bluefaced Leicester wool, 20% nylon, color: International Orange
Needles: US size 4
Size: adult
Started 8/22 and finished 12/3/2011

Because this design goes around the hat and it’s not a circular bridge, I took a bit of artistic license. I included the archway that’s under the road on the San Francisco side and made both swoops of the bridge meet it. So hard to photograph in the round: it does indeed have both towers and the suspension part on each side even though only one tower is pictured in any one photo. All in all, I’m very happy with it!

I took the leftover blue yarn from the Brattleboro Hat and quickly made a simple k2p2 child-size hat. It’s really not as skewed as it looks in the photo, I just had trouble arranging it on a balloon.

2011_12_26_2x2_BuscandoAzul_Hat

Pattern: own
Yarn: 0.4 skein Malabrigo Merino Worsted, 100% wool, color 186 Buscando Azul
Needles: US size 8
Size: child
Started 12/16 and finished 12/26/2011

I did a 4-point double decrease at the top:

2011_12_26_2x2_BuscandoAzul_Hat_top

You know when the dates are getting into December that 2012 projects are coming soon.

P.S. Golden Gate Bridge 75th anniversary is May 27, 2012. I may have to wear the hat that day.

