My little nephew greeted the world at the end of November. I was a little more on the ball with his older sister and had her sweater done in time for her pre-arrival baby shower; despite this cardigan’s speedy execution it wasn’t done until he was more than a month old. My fault, of course, but it’s just as well: he has to grow into it.

2011_12_23_GavinsCardigan_a_front

Pattern: One-Skein-Wonder Baby Sweater by Linda Burt, published in One-Skein Wonders: 101 Yarn-Shop Favorites
Yarn: .63 skeins James C. Brett Marble Chunky, 100% acrylic, color MC10
Needles: US size 10.5
Size: one size
Started and finished 12/23/2011

This was a great one-day project and I recommend this pattern to anyone who has chunky yarn and needs to whip out a baby sweater in a day. You don’t even need to make buttonholes because the buttons fit in between the stitches.

2011_12_23_GavinCardigan_b_back

A few changes to the pattern:

  • The one row of garter stitch at the bottom isn’t enough to prevent the body from rolling. I cast on 73 st instead of 72 (so the rows would end on the same stitch) and did 3 rows of seed stitch, then started the pattern. It took me under 3 hours to knit the entire body and do 3 needle bind off at the shoulders.
  • Collar: I picked up 36 instead of 34 st and worked in seed stitch.
  • Sleeves: I picked up 38 instead of 34, worked them in the round, and did seed stitch at cuff.

I estimate I spent between 5 and 6 hours on this, including weaving in the ends. I had enough yarn left over to make a hat to go with it:

2011_12_31_Gavins_Hat

Pattern: own (co 52)
Yarn: .15 skeins James C. Brett Marble Chunky, 100% acrylic, color MC10
Needles: US size 10.5
Size: infant
Started 12/23 and finished 12/31/2011

They look good together:

2011_12_31_Gavins_Set

While I really like how this looks, I can’t say I love the yarn. The acrylic just feels wrong in my hands and it bloomed up with little fuzzy bits after going through the washing machine, making me think it is not going to wear very well. Fortunately, with baby things you never need to worry about anyone fitting into anything for too long so even though it gets washed often for the few months it’s worn, it’s not like an adult garment you hope to wear for several years. I am supposed to meet my nephew for the first time next month.

