My inner 12-year-old enjoyed knitting these hats and giggled as she worked her way up the one particular chart. It’s not that reindeer in the process of making little reindeer is so funny, it’s more the idea of putting this scene on a hat that got to me. I wanted it to be for my brother. Hat the first:

2012_01_21_a_SlouchyHumpingReindeerHat

Wait, that reindeer is just running.

2012_01_21_b_SlouchyHumpingReindeerHat

These two are just running, too.

2012_01_21_c_SlouchyHumpingReindeerHat

There you go! And before anyone makes any inappropriate comments about supposed genders here, both male and female reindeer have antlers.

Pattern: Hat pattern is my own (co 92, inc to 108), running reindeer is from a Norwegian book, humping reindeer and tree from the Fornicating Deer Chart by Anne Rutten
Yarn: .45 skein Plymouth Yarn Encore Worsted, 75% acrylic, 25% wool, color 1237 (black) and .25 skein Plymouth Yarn Encore Worsted Tweed, 75% acrylic, 22% wool, 3% rayon, color 0217 (tan/taupe)
Needles: US size 8
Size: adult
Started 1/3 and finished 1/21/2012

See how far down Sancho’s eyes are covered? Unfortunately, this hat ended up so big and slouchy that I knew my brother won’t wear it so I had to make a second one. I went down a needle size, changed the lower border to make it the same as the upper, changed the decrease pattern at the top, and worked fewer rounds altogether.

Hat the second, looking pretty much the same. You’ll notice in both that the two running reindeer are discreetly facing away from the action:

2012_01_22_PatricksHumpingReindeerHat_3

2012_01_22_PatricksHumpingReindeerHat_4

Same details as above except:
Yarn: .40 skein of black, .20 skein of tan/taupe
Needles: US size 7
Started and finished 1/22/2012

The floats are long so I had to trap them:

2012_01_22_PatricksHumpingReindeerHat_7

I put a piece of paper with the word “censored” on it over the action part of the hat before I mailed it, which both my brother and his wife got a giggle out of, too.

Non-knitting content: today I made naan bread to go with my aloo gobi. It was delicious!

Naan bread

Edited to add: WordPress tells me this is post #300 (over 5.33 years of Mmm… Yarn). I am definitely a non-prolific post writer.

