My cousin requested a Jamaican flag scarf from me last fall. We started talking about colors and she asked me why I didn’t mention red. I showed her a picture of the Jamaican flag (I’ve learned that lots of people think it’s a red/yellow/green flag because those colors are on all the Bob Marley t-shirts) and she asked instead about Ghana, where her dad is from. That design was exactly what she had in mind so I made her a scarf at her desired width and length in yarns that are not warm because she doesn’t get cold often despite living somewhere where it snows. This was a tall order, finding not-too-warm yarn that comes in exactly these colors. With those very specific specifics, I found appropriate yarn and made this scarf:

2012_01_29_Kathrins_scarf

Pattern: k1p1 rib
Yarn: Berroco Comfort, 50% acrylic, 50% nylon, .55 skeins each of color 9765 (red), 9764 (yellow), and 9752 (green); small bit of 9734 (black)
Needles: US size 8
Size: 5″ x 60″
Started 12/28/2011 and finished 1/29/2012

According to the sketch my cousin gave me, the star was to go in the middle; however, this would put it at the back of the neck and hide it completely from view so I chose to sew them onto the ends instead. I used 4 stars: sewed them on front and back because I couldn’t hide the stitches sewing them only on the front. The stars are from “Knitter’s Almanac” by Elizabeth Zimmermann (see the “Christmas Fiddle-Faddle” chapter). I made some 45- and some 55-stitch ones.

2012_01_28_Eight_black_stars

She also admired my beaded wristlets so I made her some wristlets to go with her scarf. Sewing on the stars was a real pain in the neck (trying to keep wristlet stretchy was difficult) so I stopped attempting to do that and sent the spare stars in the package, letting her know she could attempt it herself if desired.

2012_01_27_Kathrins_wristlets

I got an email from her shortly after I sent it: success! Although she said it was too warm already to wear a scarf and she’d have to put it away until next year. I checked: daytime temperatures were in the mid 40s Fahrenheit then. Ahem. For me, that’s way definitely thick wool scarf weather. To each his own.

