This was supposed to have been a quick, 1-weekend woven scarf project using a skein of Tofutsies. Today I’m unweaving it for the second time.

2012_06_23_Woven_Tofutsies_Scarf_WIP

Gads, but the unweaving is tedious and disheartening. I now have little desire to finish this project. Why undo it? Well, the first time around I beat each row with my usual force and it turns out that was too tightly: I was more than halfway through my yarn supply for the warp and had only 6 inches of scarf, so I unwove and tried again, beating more gently. This time I managed to get about halfway through the length but can see I definitely won’t have enough yarn to finish so I have to undo it and beat it more gently still. I saw this as a sample scarf at Stitches West a couple of years ago so I know it can be done with one skein. I do wonder how I’m supposed to keep the row that’s up against the beam straight whenever I advance the warp when I’m weaving this loosely. It goes wonky every time. You can see one of those wonky rows just above where the shuttle is parked.

I suppose a smarter choice would be to attempt to scare up a second ball of this dye lot. Hmph.

In knitting news, I’m plodding through some more baby booties and basic novelty yarn scarves. I went away for a week to Oregon and needed airplane and mindless knitting and these projects served that purpose. My mom’s sweater is on hold because I can’t get my brain focused on the basic calculations needed to figure out the neckline. Silly, but there you have it.

Hanging on the wall at my grandmother’s house in Oregon is this needlepoint canvas I stitched for my grandparents when I was 12. I took a photo of it for posterity:

2012_06_09_needlepoint-I-made-when-I-was_12

My impression now: good execution and wow, does that yarn not fade over the years. I think it’s acrylic. Also a not-to-my-taste design. Not to my grandmother’s household’s taste, either (it kind of stands out), but she has it in the dining room where it gets seen a lot.

Tucked away in a closet, called “too good to use,” is the feather-and-fan stole I knitted for her for Christmas 2001. Darn. I had made it for her to wrap up when in bed reading and hoped then she’d actually use it. I encouraged her to use it when I saw her last week. I have a feeling it went back in the closet after I took it outside for a photo shoot. The pattern is Theatrical Lace by Eugen Beugler and the yarn is Brown Sheep Cotton Fine.

2001_12_08_Grandmas-Theatrical-Lace_Wrap_1

My impression now: I still like it! The blue is darker than it appears in the photo.

My 18g spindle survived its plane journey tucked in its wine box in the suitcase. I taught my aunt and uncle to spin while my grandmother chose to observe. A couple of days later we went to the Thomas Kay Woolen Mill (museum) and saw how big spinning machines worked at this now defunct mill. My aunt and uncle said the spindle lesson made the mill tour make more sense to them. Me, I am in awe of how fast spinning and weaving machines can work.

