“Max Poweeeeer! He’s the man whose name you’d love to touch, but you mustn’t toooooouch! … ”

Oh, sorry, I got distracted there for a moment. My friend’s son Max was born in January (his last name is not Power), and to celebrate the occasion I made him a little cardigan. It’s the same pattern I made for my nephew last fall.

2012_03_05_Max_Welcome_Cardigan

Pattern: One-Skein-Wonder Baby Sweater by Linda Burt, published in One-Skein Wonders: 101 Yarn-Shop Favorites
Yarn: .63 skeins James C. Brett Marble Chunky, 100% acrylic, color MC10
Needles: US size 10.5
Buttons: from Gail Hughes Art Buttons
Size: one size
Started 2/25 and finished 3/5/2012

I made the same modifications I made last time. Here you have them again:

  • The one row of garter stitch at the bottom isn’t enough to prevent the body from rolling. I cast on 73 st instead of 72 (so the rows would end on the same stitch) and did 3 rows of seed stitch, then started the pattern. It took me under 3 hours to knit the entire body and do 3 needle bind off at the shoulders.
  • Collar: I picked up 36 instead of 34 st and worked in seed stitch.
  • Sleeves: I picked up 38 instead of 34, worked them in the round, and did seed stitch at cuff.

His mom put in a fair bit of work to contribute to his arrival so I thought I’d give her something nice, too, something a bit superhero-ish because bringing forth a little one is in my opinion a heroic effort:

2012_03_19_Natashas_wristlets_2

Pattern: Beaded Pulse Warmers by Véronik Avery, as published in Knitting Classic Style
Yarn: JaggerSpun Zephyr Wool-Silk 2/18, 50% wool, 50% silk, color Ebony, held doubled throughout
Needles: US size 0
Beads: #6 hex beads from Twisted Sistah Beads & Fibers
Started 3/3 and finished 3/19/2012

Minor modifications: I worked 11 repeats of the pattern instead of 10 and joined it with a 3-needle bind-off instead of a graft.

2012_03_19_Natashas_wristlets_1

It’s so very hard to take a photo of your own wrists. Out of some 25 photos this was the best I got.

