I joined the more than 10,000 other knitters on Ravelry who have made a Citron shawl/shawlette and made one, too. Mine is a purple wedge of citrus:

2012_04_25_Citron_a

2012_04_25_Citron_c

Pattern: Citron by Hilary Smith Callis, as published on Knitty, Winter 2009
Yarn: Creatively Dyed Yarn Calypso, 100% merino wool, color Aruba
Needles: US size 6
Size: 46″ wide across top and 16″ tall at center
Started 4/21 and finished 4/25/2012

This was a quick knit but felt like it took far longer than 4 evenings; those ruffled rows contain a lot of stitches. I wanted to make it one repeat longer but did not have enough yarn (fortunately, had just enough yarn left to turn out a pair of booties). It turned out a little small but my statuesque model is able to wear it wrapped:

2012_04_25_Citron_b

In keeping with the fruit theme, I also made some fruit socks earlier this year. No pattern here, just cast on, increased, ribbed, made drawstring holes, then increased for the little ruffle on top before casting off. I gave one to my co-worker who happily uses them for apples and hard-boiled eggs. The rest will go to the craft fair I’m participating in next month.

2012_04_13_fruit-socks_c

Pattern: own
Yarn: Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece in CW-380 Dusty Sage, Cascade Yarns 220 Superwash in 844 (purple), James C. Brett Marble Chunky in MC10 (blue) and MC23 (blue-green), Wolle Rödel Soft-Merino in 316 (purple)
Needles: US size 5 and 8
Started 3/31 and finished 4/13/2012

They look pretty lined up with their apples inside them:

2012_04_13_fruit-socks_b

No reason for the recent blog hiatus except I’ve been knitting more (at 9 miles of yarn this year already!), reading more, and sitting at the computer less. I also went on a just over 3-week vacation in September/October, my first one in 4 years. It was time. My days were so busy that I knitted only on the airplane and it turned out to be something I had to rip out and start over after I got home.

