The pattern is Dragon Rider, the yarn Seegras — so I guess these are seadragon socks.

2012_05_06_Shurtugal_socks_2

Pattern: Shur’tugal by Alice Yu
Yarn: Tausendschön Handgefärbte Sockenwolle Merino/Nylon, 75% wool, 25% nylon, color: Seegras
Needles: US size 1
Started 2/23 and finished 5/6/2012

The yarn is vacation souvenir yarn from our trip to Germany in 2008 and I held off using it because that was my last trip together with Mr. MmmYarn. Some souvenir yarn I just want to keep; if I use it, it won’t be yarn anymore. Kind of silly, I suppose, that I sometimes prefer to see the yarn whenever I walk past the sock yarn stash rather than see the finished socks in the drawer. However, I have seen on Ravelry that I’m not the only one who does this.

2012_05_06_Shurtugal_socks_5

I worked the pattern just about as written except I made my usual knit 1 slip 1 heel and had 67 stitches for the foot circumference. These used up nearly the entire skein of sock yarn, not enough left to make booties.

Taking pictures of my own feet is challenging.

2012_05_06_Shurtugal_socks_4

Getting one’s lower legs arranged while sitting on a park bench and aiming with a camera involves some gymnastics, plus a bit of natural grace to not fall off said bench. Fortunately, there are so many people doing weird things in the park that no one even blinks and bruises heal quickly.

