Judging from the posts I see on Ravelry Forums about Noro yarns, I could conclude most knitters either love it completely or hate it with a passion. However, that judgement can only include knitters on Ravelry and those who air their opinions on Internet forums so I guess there are many others like me who fall in between: I am always entertained by the anticipation of color changes but rarely use a Noro yarn for a project that requires more than one skein because I am one of those goofy obsessives who likes to make the color changes follow correctly in succession.

This particular scarf, I’m eagerly waiting for orange to come around again (ample consolation for occasionally fighting a tangle caused by somewhat overspun Silk Garden Lite singles):

Scarf WIP

Tonight’s project is not knitting, but unraveling. While I had advised my mother that a flared sweater that hangs directly from a lady’s front porch is in my opinion flattering on very few physiques, and her physique does not fall into that category (nor does mine), I also wanted to make her something she really wanted. And, boy, did she want it. However, she agreed after the first fitting that this isn’t for her. To her credit, she admitted this with great reluctance, hesitating before finally saying, “O je, ich seh’ ja schwanger aus!” (oh, dear, I look pregnant!). And I admit she did. Aside: I wonder if I could have worn it and gotten a seat on the bus?

So here it is, before unraveling… again, since I had unraveled it completely once before for major design changes, and twice partially betweentimes for minor changes. Thank goodness I didn’t bother with puffy-topped sleeves before the fitting, and I have a “Star Wars” DVD sitting here, because I’m sure sorting out the 5 skeins of yarn, each used every two rows, will require some concentration so I certainly can’t watch anything new.

Pullover_2013_02_04_Mamas-Pulli-WIP-before-unraveling

White thread visible in photo is basting for changes to fit.

Back to the drawing board I go. Or, more accurately, the graph paper.

